logo s

How Do I Get Library Books On My Kindle Paperwhite?

If you have a Kindle account and you’re in the US, you can read most OverDrive library ebooks on your Kindle . It is in fact easier to read on your Kindle than it is to read in Overdrive’s own apps. After you’ve checked out an ebook, select the option to download the Kindle ebook.

How do I get Libby books on my Kindle Paperwhite?

First, go to the Libby app on your smartphone or tablet.

  • Select the purple bar called Preferences. Under Compatibility, select “Kindle” to search all of the Kindle-available titles.
  • Now search for your book!
  • If your book is available, it will say Borrow.

Does OverDrive work on old Kindle?

The OverDrive app is no longer being supported on 1st generation Kindle Fires . This means you will get an error when you try to open the app, it is no longer in the Kindle Store, and you are not able to listen or read any titles downloaded to the app.

Why can’t I get OverDrive on my Kindle?

First generation Kindle Fires can no longer download the OverDrive app from the Amazon Appstore. If you’ve already downloaded the OverDrive app on your Kindle Fire, you can continue to use it. If you need help using the app, open the app and go to Menu > More Options > Help.

How do I convert OverDrive ebooks to Kindle?

In the OverDrive app

  • Click or tap the icon in the top-right corner to open the Settings menu.
  • Select eBook, then enable Read in Kindle (U.S. only).

Can I download apps on my Kindle Paperwhite?

First please go to “Manage Your Kindle” page, and you will see the most recently purchased items, where the app should be displayed. Then look at the right side, you will find that there is an “Action” button, click it and then choose “Download & transfer via USB”.

How do I get free books on my Kindle Paperwhite?

  • How to get free books on your Kindle. …
  • Search the Kindle bookstore on your device or Amazon.com. …
  • Use an Amazon Prime or Kindle Unlimited subscription. …
  • Look at resources like Project Gutenberg, BookBub, and Scribd. …
  • Rent eBooks for free from your local library.

Whats the difference between Libby and OverDrive?

OverDrive is the “classic” app, and is compatible with more devices, including Kindle Fire and Windows mobile devices. … Libby is newer , and doesn’t yet have all of the features that the OverDrive app does, such as the ability to recommend titles for purchase or robust accessibility features.

Why can’t I read library books on Kindle?

Some Kindle Books from your library (including many picture books, read-alongs, and graphic novels) aren’t supported on certain Kindle devices or reading apps. To see whether a Kindle Book is incompatible with your device or app, look for a Kindle restrictions link under “Formats” on the ebook’s details page .

How do I download free books onto my Kindle?

Download free Kindle books from these 9 sites

  • Project Gutenberg. Project Gutenberg is the longest-established ebook site in the world and the top place to download free classics. …
  • Smashwords. …
  • Kindle Store. …
  • Internet Archive. …
  • Open Library. …
  • ManyBooks. …
  • Goodreads. …

Can I listen to audio books on Kindle Paperwhite?

The Bluetooth chip will enable you to connect headphones or a speaker, and this is a way to listen to Audible audiobooks on your new Kindle Paperwhite. … You can play both audiobooks purchased in the Audible Store and audiobook companions bought for Kindle books you already own.

How do I borrow eBooks from public library on my Kindle?

Borrowing Kindle Books from your library

  • Open your library’s digital collection (you can find it using www.overdrive.com).
  • Find a Kindle Book to borrow. …
  • Select Borrow. …
  • Choose a lending period for the title (if available). …
  • After you borrow the title, select Read now with Kindle.

Can I borrow library books on Kindle Paperwhite?

If your local library uses libby , yes. You download the app separately (on your phone) and check out books to kindle which you can then open on your paperwhite.

Why won’t my library book download to my Kindle?

Usually it’s just glitch or a bad wireless connection , and the book will often download with a second attempt. … If the book or app gets stuck downloading partway, select to delete it from your Kindle app or device and then try re-downloading it from the cloud section.

Does a Kindle Paperwhite have free books?

You can find many sources of free content for your Kindle Paperwhite. The quickest and easiest way to find free e-books, games, and other offers that are available at Amazon is to search the Top 100 Free category. … Free books from Amazon re stored in the Cloud and available to you , even if the free promotion ends.

Is there a monthly fee for Kindle?

A: Kindle Unlimited is a service that allows you to read as much as you want, choosing from over 2 million titles, thousands of audiobooks, and up to three select magazine subscriptions. … You can read on any device. It’s available for $9.99 a month and you can cancel anytime. Try it free for 30 days.

What else can you do with a Kindle Paperwhite?

It can send documents, share books, play hidden games and much more.

  • Take screenshots. …
  • Get library books. …
  • Share an account. …
  • Share content with kids. …
  • Or just lend a book. …
  • Send documents. …
  • Convert those documents for Kindle. …
  • Read articles.

Can I browse Internet on Kindle Paperwhite?

Yes indeed, your Kindle Paperwhite sports a built-in browser that you can use to access the Internet . … If you have a Kindle Paperwhite 3G, free web browsing in 3G mode is limited. You can access only the Amazon website and Wikipedia via 3G wireless. For accessing other websites, you need to use a Wi-Fi connection.

Can you download Wattpad on Kindle Paperwhite?

Wattpad to Kindle E-reader. Send Wattpad™ story’s to your Amazon™ Kindle device or download it as Epub, PDF or Mobi. Send Wattpad Story’s Content to your kindle device or any e-reader or download it as PDF/Epub/Mobi. … +100.000 Story’s on your pocket All Wattpad free story’s are available for download.

Can you install apps on Kindle?

If you have a Kindle Fire, you can install apps from Amazon’s App Store through your device . These are the most common apps you’re likely to want on your tablet, such as Netflix, YouTube, apps from major news providers such as NPR and ABC, and games like Candy Crush Saga.

How do I make my OverDrive eBooks forever?

If you’re at the end of your lending period and you’re not finished with your audiobook, the first thing you can try is the “Renew” option . This is simple; just like at a regular library, you can choose to renew your book and extend the lending period, as long as no one else has a hold on the title.

How do I put OverDrive on my Kindle?

How do I use the OverDrive app on a Kindle Fire?

  • Getting Started. Open the app store. …
  • Set up OverDrive App. Open the OverDrive app. …
  • Checkout eBooks and Audiobooks. …
  • – If it isn’t available, tap Place a Hold. …
  • Tap Choose a Format.
  • 7. – …
  • -If it is an audiobook, skip to skep 8.
  • Tap Add to App ePUB eBook or Add to App MP3 audiobook.

How do I download eBooks from OverDrive?

Open the OverDrive app. Click or tap the icon in the top-left corner to open the Home menu. Then, select Files. Click or tap the audiobook parts you want to download, then select Download, or select Download all.

Related Q&A:

© 2022 - 2024 Times Mojo - All Rights Reserved Home | About | Contact | Copyright | Report Content | Privacy | Cookie Policy | Terms & Conditions | Sitemap

How-To Geek

How to borrow ebooks from a library on a kindle for free.

You don't have to pay for books on your Kindle if you have a library card.

Quick Links

What you will need, how to find ebooks from your library, how to borrow ebooks on your phone.

You might think that the only way to get ebooks on your Kindle is to buy them from Amazon. But the truth is that you have access to a literal library of free books. All you need is a library card.

That's right. Switching from physical to digital books doesn't mean that you can't enjoy the benefits of a public library. The process of checking out books isn't quite as simple as walking into a library and getting lost in the bookcases, but it does work well once you get past the initial setup.

How does this differ from checking out physical books at a library? Well, actually, it's quite similar. There are only a certain number of ebooks available. If they're all checked out, you can place a hold. You are allowed to have the ebook for a set number of days, after which it's automatically returned.

  • The most important thing that you'll need is a Kindle e-Reader ---such as the Kindle Paperwhite ---or a device with the Kindle app . That could be a Kindle Fire tablet  or an iPhone , iPad , or Android device.
  • Second, you should check to make sure that your local library or any libraries that you're interested in joining support lending with OverDrive. This is the service that's officially supported by Amazon, and it's what we will be using in this guide. Head over to this page and search for your library.
  • Lastly, you will need to obtain a library card from the library that you want to use. Some libraries allow you to get these online, but others require you to visit the physical location. Every library is different, so consult with yours.

TL;DR: You need a Kindle or the Kindle app and a library card from a library that participates with OverDrive. That's it!

Related: How to Set a Book Cover as Your Kindle Screensaver

The first thing to do is find an ebook to rent from your library. To do this, you'll need to visit the website for the library that you have a card with. The screenshots below are specific to my library, but it should be a similar process.

Find your library on the OverDrive search map  using a desktop web browser such as Chrome and select "Visit Library Website."

Select

This will take you to your library's website or to the network that your library belongs to. Click "Sign In" and enter your library card number. You might have to select your specific library if you're on a network website.

Click

Next, search for a book that you want to read. From the results, use the search filters to see only "Kindle Books."

Use the search filters to see only

Find a book that's labeled as "Available" and select it.

Find a book that is labeled as

Now, simply click the "Borrow" button.

Now simply click the

Choose how long you want to borrow the book. The options are usually 7 or 14 days. Then, click "Borrow."

Choose how long you want to borrow the book. Then click

A confirmation pop-up will appear with some extra information. The next step is to click "Read Now With Kindle."

Click

This will take you to the Amazon listing of the book. Make sure that you're signed in with the same account as your Kindle e-Reader or app, and then click "Get Library Book."

Click

Amazon will confirm that you have checked out the book, and it will appear on your Kindle devices and apps the next time they perform a sync.

Confirmation.

Struggling to finish the book before its due date? There's a trick to keeping Kindle library books past their due date  (and it doesn't stop the next person in line from getting their copy).

The process described above was done in a web browser on a computer, but you can also check out books with OverDrive's handy "Libby" app. The process is similar, but we'll show you how to do it.

Download the Libby app on your iPhone , iPad , or Android device.

Libby in the App Store.

Once it's installed, the app will ask whether you have a library card. Tap "Yes."

The app will ask if you have a library card. Tap

Next, you'll have a few options for selecting your library. The "Yes, Guess My Library" option will use your location.

Choose a method to find library.

After you've selected your library, you'll be guided through entering your library card number.

Entering your library card.

Once that's all taken care of, you'll be ready to search for ebooks. Use the Search tab at the bottom to do this.

Use the Search tab at the bottom.

Use the "Refine" tool on the results page to select "Kindle" in the "Supports" section.

Use the

Find a book that says "Borrow." Books that aren't currently available will say "Place Hold."

library books to kindle paperwhite

Tap "Borrow" on the book information page.

Tap

Select how many days you want to borrow the book, and then tap "Borrow."

Select how many days you want to borrow the book, then tap

From here, you'll want to open the book with "Kindle," which will take you to the Amazon website.

Open the book with

Make sure that you're signed in with the same account as your Kindle e-Reader or app, and then click "Get Library Book."

Tap

Amazon will confirm that you have checked out the book, and it will appear on your Kindle devices and apps. If you're already on the device where you want to read the book, tap "Read Now in the Kindle App."

Read Now in the Kindle App

This all might seem like a complex process, but it's pretty easy after you've finished all the initial library searching and signing in with your card. From here on out, it's just a matter of finding books and sending them to your Kindle . Happy reading!

library books to kindle paperwhite

How to Get Library Books on Kindle: Your Guide

' src=

Tirzah Price

Most of Tirzah Price's life decisions have been motivated by a desire to read as many books as humanly possible. Tirzah holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, and has worked as an independent bookseller and librarian. She’s also the author of the Jane Austen Murder Mysteries, published by HarperTeen, and Bibliologist at TBR: Tailored Book Recommendations . Follow her on Twitter @TirzahPrice .

View All posts by Tirzah Price

Kindles are marvelous inventions because at what other point in human history have we been able to access hundreds of thousands of books at our fingertips, in a device that is light, portable, and looks just like paper? Besides being able to carry around a library’s worth of books in your bag, Kindles are amazing because of their ability to get almost every book you can want with the few taps of a button…but that can be dangerous for your wallet! While there are so many great Kindle deals and budget-friendly options like Kindle Unlimited to keep you in reading material, truly the best way to enjoy unlimited reading on your device for FREE is through your local library with library books on Kindle devices.

If you’re thinking, Wait, I can get library books on my Kindle? Yes, you can! With a few stipulations and a few steps, you’ll be reading more books than you can keep up with. However, reading free library books on Kindle does have a few requirements, and takes a little set up. Once you’ve gotten things squared away, though, it’s a fairly seamless process. All that’s required is your Kindle, and if your Kindle is NOT a Kindle Fire, one additional device that can connect to the internet, whether it’s your phone or a public access computer at your local library. Let’s dive into how to get library books on Kindle devices!

Library Cards

The first step may seem obvious, but you’ll need to obtain a library card. If you don’t already have a library card, find your closest library and head in to get that sorted out. Library cards are almost always free. In rare cases, you might need to pay a membership fee if you don’t live in a particular library’s service area, but everyone is always welcome in a library, and librarians will be able to direct you to where you can get a free library card. Usually, you will need to show some kind of proof of address — a piece of mail or an I.D. — but not always. Ask your librarian how to get started, and I promise you that they’ll be happy to get you signed up.

Overdrive Access

Most libraries have a service called Overdrive, which is a platform that provides ebooks and digital audiobooks to library users, and for some, even magazines. If you’re not sure if your library offers ebooks and audiobooks via Overdrive, just ask! A librarian will be able to set you up with an account and help you navigate the platform.

Many libraries are part of a consortium, which means they share access to thousands of titles across library systems. Some large library systems have their own Overdrive collections. It depends on your library and their budgets. But every ebook on Overdrive is free to access, which will save you money in the long run by borrowing instead of buying.

Thank you for signing up! Keep an eye on your inbox. By signing up you agree to our terms of use

How to Borrow Library Ebooks

a screenshot of an Overdrive website

Once you’re set up with your own library account for Overdrive, there are two ways you can access ebooks: on the browser, via your library’s unique Overdrive web address, or via the app Libby. Both offer the same catalogue, but they look a little different. Here’s how my Overdrive accounts look on the browser (above) vs. on the app (below).

a screenshot of the Libby app homepage

You’ll start off by searching for a title and viewing the results. Make sure that you are only choosing “ebook” results. You can even filter your search to only include ebooks.

If a book is labeled “waitlist,” that means it’s checked out. Most Overdrive materials are like physical library materials, even though they’re digital — only one person can check out one copy at a time, so if a library only has one or two digital copies, you’ll have to wait until they’re returned before you can borrow them. But if you put yourself on the waiting list, you’ll be notified when it’s ready to check out! Some materials, such as works in the public domain, will have an unlimited license so they’re always available.

screenshot of Five Total Strangers on Overdrive

Another consideration is what format the book is available in. You will find this information on the right side of the book listing, if you’re on the browser. if you’re in the Libby app, you’ll have to scroll down to the book’s info, and look under “Read With.” In both instances, you’ll want to find “Kindle” listed under format.

When you’re ready to borrow a book, click borrow. A pop-up will appear to confirm the borrow, and you can adjust your borrowing period to be either seven or 14 days, with 14 days as the most common lending period. Then you’ll borrow the book!

Getting Library Ebooks on Kindle

Now that you’ve borrowed the ebook, there is just a couple of extra steps to get it on your Kindle device. In Libby, you’ll be shown a few different options. You’ll want to click on “Go to Shelf,” where you’ll see the books you’ve borrowed listed. Click on “Read with Kindle.” On the Overdrive website, a pop-up will show up with the button “Read now with Kindle.”

library books to kindle paperwhite

Once you click on either, your internet browser will open up at take you to Amazon. If you’re not logged into your Amazon account already, you’ll have to sign in. Once you sign in, you’ll see the library book listed, with a yellow “Get Library Book” button, and then you’ll have the option of delivering the book to any of your Kindle apps or devices. As long as your Kindle has a wifi connection, the book should appear almost instantly on your Kindle!

screenshot of the Read now with Kindle page on Amazon

How Do I Return Library Books on Kindle?

Once you get your library book on Kindle, you’ll have it for the duration of the loan checkout period, seven or 14 days. Once the book expires, it will no longer be accessible to you and the book will automatically return itself on Overdrive — which means no overdue fines for you! Sometimes the book will still appear in your Kindle Library after it’s been returned, but you can simply delete it from your library, as it’s a book you no longer own.

If you wish to be a good library user and return books as soon as you’re done with them, you can do so from the browser or app by clicking on “Loans” under your Shelf, and then clicking “Return” on the browser, or “Manage Loan” and “Return early” in Libby.

screenshot of the return early screen on Libby

And just like that, you’ve opened up a whole new world of reading on your Kindle! Library books for Kindle are amazing because they allow you to make all the same adjustments to the size and font of the text as you would for an ebook you purchase, but you don’t have to pay for access to the books. Plus, you can access Overdrive anywhere at any time, so no more worrying about returning books to the library on time or getting to the library before they close.

If you want to know more about how to use your Kindle, learn how to email files to your Kindle .

library books to kindle paperwhite

You Might Also Like

The Bestselling Books of the Week, According to All the Lists

How to send books to your Kindle — even if they’re not from Amazon

Whether you use a kindle device or an app, you can use send to kindle to easily add outside documents to your library..

By Barbara Krasnoff , a reviews editor who manages how-tos. She’s worked as an editor and writer for almost 40 years. Previously, she was a senior reviews editor for Computerworld.

Share this story

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Kindle with illustrated background

Amazon’s Kindle is a useful reading tool , especially if you tend to purchase your books through Amazon. If you have ebooks that you’ve purchased elsewhere, however — or have picked up off a free service such as Project Gutenberg — you need to be able to put it on your Kindle (or Kindle app).

Getting a non-Amazon book onto a Kindle used to be a somewhat awkward process, involving attaching it to an email and sending it to your individual Kindle email address. However, Amazon’s Send to Kindle service has improved vastly since then, and it is now a fairly simple process.

  • How to convert a PDF file for your Kindle

But first, a note: if you’re a long-term Kindle user who hasn’t been paying attention to the news, you may be surprised to see ePub listed — and not Mobi. Amazon added ePub to its list of allowed Kindle formats about a year ago and, around that same time, announced that it was retiring its long-used Mobi format. But while, according to the company, you can no longer send new Mobi documents to your Kindle, existing documents will not be affected.

Okay, here we go:

  • On the web, go to Amazon’s Send to Kindle page .
  • Drag and drop your file to the large square area, or click on Select files from device and choose the file you want to send. (The maximum file size is 200MB.) There will be a list of supported file types on the page — including PDF, DOCX, and ePub, among others. (Incidentally, you may note, there’s a list of Other ways to send on the right side of the page. We’ll get to that later.)

Web page headed File Upload with a gray box labeled Drag and drop files here, a yellow button below that labeled Select files from device, a list of file types below that. On the right, a subhead Other ways to send with several buttons labeled, Web, iOS, Android, etc.

  • The name of the file will now appear under the subhead Ready to Send .

File Upload page with gray box labeled Ready To Send, a file labeled “Jewish Futures - Michael A Burstein, editor.epub  and to the right 445.6KB, below that, a toggle labeled Add to your Library, and then a Send button. The same buttons headed Other ways to send on the right.

  • At this point, you can add more files (by clicking on the appropriate link). There is also a toggle called Add to your library that, when enabled, allows you to download the file to any device linked to your account.
  • If you prefer to just save the file locally, you can use the toggle to disable Add to your library . At that point, you’ll get a list of all your registered Kindle devices (or devices with Kindle apps), and you can specify one or more to send the file to.

Ready to Send box with Jewish Futures book below, the Add to your library labeled toggle below, with the toggle off, and below that Choose where to send your file(s): with four devices listed, and a Send button.

  • Either way, select Send , and your document will be sent either to your Amazon library or to the device(s) you’ve specified. A list of recently sent files will appear beneath the File Upload box.

Web page headed File Upload with a gray box labeled Drag and drop files here, a yellow button below that labeled Select files from device, a list of file types below that. Below the box, a list of Recently sent files. On the right, a subhead Other ways to send with several buttons labeled, Web, iOS, Android, etc.

And you’re done! When I tried it, it took under a minute for the book to appear in my Android Kindle app. While this could vary, you shouldn’t have to wait long.

Alternative methods

As previously noted, you don’t have to use the online app to send your document to your Kindle — on the right side of the page are various buttons that, when clicked, will offer instructions on how to send documents to your Kindle account via a mobile app, email, or various other methods.

Sending via email offers an extra added attraction: if you don’t want to struggle with trying to read a PDF on your phone (which, depending on the file, can be a real headache), you can use email to convert the PDF to a more readable format on your Kindle app. We’ve got instructions on how to do that here .

Google Gemma: because Google doesn’t want to give away Gemini yet

Meet the new google sign-in page, one of the last small-ish android phones looks like it’s going the way of the iphone mini, google apologizes for ‘missing the mark’ after gemini generated racially diverse nazis, nintendo direct february 2024: all the news and trailers.

Sponsor logo

More from Tech

Stock image illustration featuring the Nintendo logo stamped in black on a background of tan, blue, and black color blocking.

The Nintendo Switch 2 will now reportedly arrive in 2025 instead of 2024

Apple AirPods Pro

The best Presidents Day deals you can already get

Figma CEO Dylan Field.

Interview: Figma’s CEO on life after the company’s failed sale to Adobe

An image announcing Vudu’s rebranding to Fandango at Home.

Vudu’s name is changing to ‘Fandango at Home’

  • Skip to search
  • Skip to help categories
  • Skip to footer
  • Getting started
  • OverDrive app
  • Troubleshooting
  • Chromebooks
  • iOS (iPhone/iPad)
  • Kindle ereaders
  • Fire tablets
  • Getting Started
  • Borrowing Kindle Books from your library's OverDrive website

You can borrow Kindle Books from your library's OverDrive website, then read them on Kindle devices or Kindle reading apps .

Note: Kindle Books are currently available for U.S. libraries only.

  • Open your library's OverDrive website (you can find it using www.overdrive.com ).

Menu

  • Select Borrow . If prompted, sign into your library.

library books to kindle paperwhite

  • If you're not signed into your Amazon account, follow the prompts to sign in. Then, select Get Library Book .

Kindle ereaders need a Wi-Fi connection to download library Kindle Books from Amazon. If you're using a Kindle ereader and you don't have a Wi-Fi connection, you'll need to transfer the title via USB .

Once a book is on your Kindle device or reading app, you can read it just like any other Kindle Book. For specific help reading on your device (like how to change the font or save a bookmark), visit Amazon Device Support .

  • Are Kindle Books automatically removed from my Kindle or Kindle reading app?
  • Are OverDrive's audiobooks compatible with Kindle or Kobo ereaders?
  • How to make Kindle your reading preference on your library's OverDrive website or in the OverDrive app
  • How to read Kindle Books with Kindle Cloud Reader
  • How to renew Kindle Books from your library
  • How to return a Kindle Book borrowed from your library
  • How to transfer library Kindle Books via USB

Using OverDrive

  • Resource Center
  • Marketplace
  • Careers with OverDrive
  • Privacy policy
  • Cookie Settings
  • Terms and conditions
  • Attributions

Certified B Corporation

  • © OverDrive, Inc.

This site uses cookies

OverDrive uses cookies and similar technologies to improve your experience, monitor our performance, and understand overall usage trends for OverDrive services (including OverDrive websites and apps). We use this information to create a better experience for all users. Please review the types of cookies we use below.

These cookies allow you to explore OverDrive services and use our core features. Without these cookies, we can't provide services to you.

These cookies allow us to monitor OverDrive's performance and reliability. They alert us when OverDrive services are not working as expected. Without these cookies, we won't know if you have any performance-related issues that we may be able to address.

These cookies help us understand user behavior within our services. For example, they let us know which features and sections are most popular. This information helps us design a better experience for all users.

To learn more about cookies, please see our Cookie policy . To learn more about how we use and protect your data, please see our Privacy policy .

How to get library books on your Kindle for free and borrow the latest titles

  • You can get library books on a Kindle device through Amazon's partnership with OverDrive, as long as you have a library membership with a participating institution.
  • You can download library books on your Kindle through your library's website or using the OverDrive website. 
  • Not all libraries offer Kindle support, and some titles might be restricted and thus unavailable to download on your Kindle. 

While Amazon's Kindle allows owners to purchase or rent ebooks from the company itself, some people may not know that access to your latest favorites on your e-reader is only a library card away. Those with a membership at their local library can access electronic books for free, thanks to Amazon's partnership with OverDrive. 

It should be noted that not all libraries support the OverDrive lending system, so you'll need to verify that yours does before proceeding. Additionally, some Kindle Books such as picture books, read-alongs, and graphic novels will not be supported by the Kindle app or some devices. 

When checking out a book, whether through your library or the OverDrive site, you'll want to find a "Device restrictions" link, or something similar, under the "Available formats" section to confirm compatibility. You can also read the book, once borrowed, within the OverDrive app if you don't have your Kindle handy.

Once all of that is in place, you're ready to get started. Here's how to read library books on your Kindle. 

What you need to read library ebooks on your Kindle 

Checking out ebooks through OverDrive is a relatively straightforward process, but you will need a few things in addition to your library membership before proceeding. 

  • A Kindle device, the Kindle Cloud Reader, or the Kindle app, which is available for iOS and Android devices.  
  • An access pin to the OverDrive catalog, which can be obtained from your library. 
  • A Wi-Fi connection or a computer and USB cord through which to load your borrowed books onto your Kindle device

How to check out library books on a Kindle through your library's website

1. Visit the website of your local library and log into your account. 

2. Use the library website's search tool to find eBooks or Kindle books. 

3. Follow the website's instructions for checking them out. This will usually involve going to a title's details page and hitting the "Borrow" link. 

4. During checkout, there should be an option to sign in to your Amazon account with your username and password. Follow the process, including selecting the Kindle device you would like your book(s) to be sent to. 

5. Check that your Kindle is connected to WiFi. 

6. Finally, download the library book via the device's Archived Items or Cloud section, both of which can be accessed through your Kindle's settings. 

How to check out library books for your Kindle through the OverDrive website 

1. Go to www.overdrive.com and sign in. 

2. Open your library's digital collection. 

3. Search for and find the book you want to borrow using the site's advanced search, format filter, or by visiting an ebook's details page and verifying that Kindle is an available format.  

4. Titles will appear in two different formats. One will feature only an image of the book cover with the title and author. The other will feature the book cover, title, and author, with a designation that it's an "Ebook" and a link to "Borrow" it.  

5. If the format you see has the "Borrow" link , click it. 

6. If prompted, sign in to your library account. 

7. If a lending period is available, select it now. 

8. Choose "Borrow" again.

9. If the format only features the cover, author and title , click or tap the "More" option to be redirected to the ebook's details page. 

10. Select "Borrow" before signing in to your library account, if prompted. 

11. Go to your Account dashboard and access the Checkouts page. 

12. The process for both formats should now be the same , and you should see the option to "Read now with Kindle." Click that link. 

13. You'll be redirected to Amazon's site. If you aren't signed in, do so. 

14. Choose "Get Library Book" and verify that the "Deliver to:" device is your Kindle if prompted. 

Related coverage from  Tech Reference :

5 ways to get free books on your kindle, from classics to new releases, how to share your kindle books in 2 different ways, how to buy and read kindle e-books on a mac computer, how to read kindle books on a pc in 2 different ways, how to delete books from your kindle device when you no longer need them, in 3 different ways, watch: this bookstore has a very special collection of rare and expensive books.

library books to kindle paperwhite

  • Main content
  • iPhone 15 Plus vs. Pro Max
  • 3 Key Tech Trends to Watch in 2024

How to Use a Kindle Paperwhite

You'll navigate your Paperwhite with taps, just like your phone

library books to kindle paperwhite

  • University of Nebraska

library books to kindle paperwhite

  • Western Governors University

What to Know

  • Go to More (three lines) > Settings to do initial setup of Wi-Fi and more.
  • To move to the next page of a book, tap the center or right side of the screen; to go back, tap the left side.
  • Tap the top of the screen while reading a book to open the toolbar and adjust screen brightness, type, and more.

This article will show you how to use the touchscreen and controls on your Kindle Paperwhite. Instructions apply to all generations.

How Do I Start Using My Kindle Paperwhite?

Once you've set up your Kindle Paperwhite by linking it to your Amazon account, books you buy or download will appear on the Home screen. Before you start doing that, however, you may want to adjust some settings. Here's what to do.

From the Home screen, select the menu icon. It looks like three horizontal lines.

In the menu that opens, you can choose how your library appears on the Home screen by choosing List View or Cover View (depending on which one is currently active). You have two options: You have two options: List View displays a simple list of books and documents, while Cover View shows the covers of books in your library when they're available.

Books in the PDF or other formats may not have art to show in Cover View.

If a book you've bought or borrowed isn't showing up on your Home screen, tap Sync and Check for Items to force your Paperwhite to download them.

Tap Settings in this menu to see more options.

In the Settings menu, you can connect to Wi-Fi, turn on Airplane Mode, manage a Family Library , and set parental controls for your Paperwhite .

How Do I Navigate on My Kindle Paperwhite?

Just like your phone, your main interactions with the Kindle Paperwhite will be through taps. For the most part, you'll just tap the menu item or object to select it. You can also do long presses to open additional options. But the instructions are a little different when you're reading a book.

How Do I Read Books on My Kindle Paperwhite?

Because the book interface on a Kindle prioritizes the pages, you won't see "Forward" or "Back" buttons to read. Instead, the Paperwhite screen has "zones" you tap to go different directions. Here's how it works:

Tap the center or right side of the screen to go to the next page.

Use the far left of the screen to go back a page.

Tap the lower-left corner to change how your Paperwhite shows your reading progress. It can show:

  • Your location in the book.
  • The time you'll take to finish the current chapter.
  • The time you'll take to finish the book.
  • None of these.

The Paperwhite calculates the "time remaining" figures based on how long you spend on each "page" while you read.

Finally, tapping the top of the screen opens the toolbar .

Opening the toolbar provides you with several reading and navigation options. For basic use, only a few of them are important. Tap the Home icon to return to your library.

The icon shaped like a lightbulb lets you adjust the brightness of your screen. Tap the plus and minus symbols to increase and decrease the brightness. You can also use the Max button next to the plus to instantly go to the highest setting.

The Aa icon in the second row lets you change several options for how print appears on your Kindle. Options include:

  • Font size : how large or small letters are.
  • Font type : the font style. You can choose from a variety of both serif and sans-serif fonts.
  • Line spacing : how close or far apart lines of text are.
  • Margins : how much space appears at either side of the text.

Your Paperwhite automatically remembers your reading progress, so you don't have to "save" or anything before you stop reading for the day. To mark a space to return to later, however, use the Bookmark icon.

To go back to your bookmark later, tap and hold the name/cover of the book on the Home screen, and then select View Bookmarks .

You can reboot your Paperwhite using two methods. The easiest is to hold the button at the bottom of the reader until a menu appears, and then select Restart . Otherwise, select the three-lined menu in the toolbar > Settings > Device Options > Restart .

Your Kindle never actually turns off except for an instant while it's rebooting. Instead, it enters a low-power mode to save the battery. You can manually turn off the screen by holding the bottom button and selecting Screen Off once the menu appears.

To return your Kindle Paperwhite to factory settings , which will delete all of its contents and any changes you've made, select the three-lined menu >  Settings  >  Menu  >  Reset Device . To force an unresponsive Kindle to restart, hold the Power button for about 20 seconds.

Get the Latest Tech News Delivered Every Day

  • Is Buying a Kindle Worth It? 4 Reasons to Buy One
  • How to Exit a Book on Your Kindle Paperwhite
  • How to Turn Off a Kindle Paperwhite
  • How to Get to the Home Screen on a Kindle
  • How to Use Power Saver Mode on Kindle Paperwhite
  • How to Reset a Kindle Paperwhite
  • How to Change the Time on a Kindle Paperwhite
  • How to Reset a Parental Controls Password on Kindle
  • How to Fix Battery Drain on a Kindle Paperwhite
  • How to Get Page Numbers on Kindle
  • How to Restart a Kindle Paperwhite
  • How to Change the Font Size on Kindle
  • How to Use Kindle Dark Mode
  • How to Highlight on Kindle
  • How to Use Parental Controls on Kindle
  • How to Restart a Samsung Galaxy S20
  • Thousand Oaks Library
  • Ask a Librarian

Q. How can I read a Libby ebook on my Kindle Paperwhite?

How can I get free ebooks on my Kindle Paperwhite?

  • Circulation
  • 2 Battery recycling
  • 3 Book Clubs
  • 13 Borrower Services
  • 1 Donations
  • 20 eBooks and eAudiobooks
  • 2 Genealogy Library
  • 1 InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
  • 3 Jobs/Volunteer Opportunities
  • 21 Library Facilities
  • 18 Library Hours & Policies
  • 1 Library mailing lists
  • 48 Library Services
  • 15 Library Trivia
  • 1 Local Authors
  • 1 Magazines
  • 1 Newspapers
  • 3 Passport Services
  • 5 Public services
  • 14 Special Collections Information
  • 2 Streaming Video
  • 1 Support the Library
  • 2 System Status
  • 2 Tax Preparation Assistance
  • 7 Technical Support
  • 1 Web Browser issues

Answered By: JB Last Updated: May 22, 2023     Views: 18830

Yes - you can download Libby ebooks to your Kindle Paperwhite!

Part 1 - You will need a 'smart device' to do the first part of the process.  Use a desktop computer, Android phone, or Apple IOS device (ipad or iphone) to get the Libby app from the app store you already use on that device (Google Play, Apple App Store...)

Once you have downloaded the Libby App to your smart device, you will add a card - type in your Thousand Oaks Library card number and 4-digit PIN.  In your Libby settings, please select the option to prefer Kindle ebooks.  Some ebooks may not be available in Kindle, note that those titles will not be able to be loaded by your Kindle device. 

With the Libby app, select and Borrow an ebook title, and then select the option to "Read now with Kindle."  Your device will take you to the Amazon page to complete the download of your new Libby ebook title. (If your device is not already signed in to Amazon, you will need your Amazon login and password) 

Once you are logged in to Amazon.com, you will see a yellow button to "Get Library book" tap the button, and the book will be checked out to your Kindle account. 

Part 2 - open your Kindle Paperwhite device, and make sure it is connected to WiFi, the go to your "Home" screen.  The new title should be visible on your home screen.  If it is not, make sure you are on WiFi and synch your Kindle.  The title should then show on the screen. Kindle device troubleshooting can be done by contacting Amazon Support. 

  • Battery recycling
  • Borrower Services
  • eBooks and eAudiobooks
  • Genealogy Library
  • InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
  • Jobs/Volunteer Opportunities
  • Library Facilities
  • Library Hours & Policies
  • Library mailing lists
  • Library Services
  • Library Trivia
  • Local Authors
  • Passport Services
  • Public services
  • Special Collections Information
  • Streaming Video
  • Support the Library
  • System Status
  • Tax Preparation Assistance
  • Technical Support
  • Web Browser issues

Available Monday - Friday (except holidays) 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Library Events

The   Events Calendar   is your best way to find out   what's happening at the Library!

Don't want to miss a thing?   Sign up for Library Monthly e-Newsletter!

To revisit this article, visit My Profile, then View saved stories .

  • Backchannel
  • Wired World
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Newsletters
  • Wired Insider

Jordan McMahon Michael Calore

How to Get Free Kindle Books With Your Library Card

illustration of book

You've always wanted to read Infinite Jest, and now you finally have enough time on your hands to get through all 1,079 pages. Sure, you could grab it from a local bookseller , or order it on Amazon.

But you might be able to read a digital copy for free by borrowing it from your local library. With a library card, an internet connection, and an e-reader , you can start reading the book right away without ever leaving your house.

If you buy something using links in our stories, we may earn a commission. This helps support our journalism. Learn more .

First, you'll need a library card. If you don't already have one, visit your local branch to get one. That may be difficult if your library is still closed . But check the website of your local branch to see if you can get an electronic card issued online. Some libraries will give you a card without requiring you to show up.

Use your credentials to access your library's e-book collection. Many libraries use OverDrive , a cross-platform service with millions of e-books and audiobooks. Scroll through OverDrive's catalog in your browser, or download the company's app, called Libby , to scroll through the selection on your phone. Once you find the book you want, you should be able to click a button and borrow it.

Most books are available right away. Some books, especially new releases or popular titles, will show a wait time. You might even have to wait as long as a few weeks or months to borrow a best seller. This is because libraries don't have unlimited copies of digital books; they only get a finite amount to pass around, and the more popular a book grows, the more scarce those digital copies become. 

So relax and grab a spot in the queue. Once you request a loan, Libby will send an alert once the book is available for you to borrow. The app can also tell you the current wait time as copies get returned to the library and the line grows shorter.

There are a few ways to read your borrowed book. If you have a Kobo reader, it integrates directly with OverDrive—you simply search for a book on OverDrive on your Kobo and download it. You can also download books directly in the Libby app, or on any Kindle device. We find a dedicated e-reader to be a more pleasant, and much less distracting, experience. 

A Kobo reader might be slightly easier, but setting up a Kindle isn't hard. Within the Libby app, tap on the user menu at the top of the screen. Under Help & Support, find the menu item "Read books with," then select Kindle. The app will guide you through the process of linking your Libby account with your Amazon account. 

After it's set up, whenever you borrow a book, the Libby app will shuttle you over to Amazon for a moment so you can tell Amazon which Kindle reader you'd like the book delivered to. After that, with your Kindle connected to Wi-Fi, just turn on the device and go to the main menu. You should see the book automatically appear.

Just like the rest of the books in the library, there are limits on how long you can keep the e-books you check out through OverDrive. These limits vary from library to library. Unlike physical books, you don't have to do anything to return an e-book you've checked out. After your time's up, the book will simply disappear from your e-reader.

If you don't have a Kindle, that's fine. You can still just read e-books directly inside the Libby app. Or, if you have another type of e-reader—a Nook, a Kobo reader , a ReMarkable tablet , or any device that supports reading digital books —you can transfer your book directly to the device from the Libby app or the OverDrive website.

However, just know that support for direct transfer is not as thorough on a device that isn't a dedicated e-reader. You may need to download your e-book (in standardized ePub file format) onto a computer, then transfer it to the e-reader manually over USB.

In addition to e-books, most libraries also let you check out audiobooks. You can stream those directly through the Libby app, and sometimes you're allowed to download them too.

Libraries with films and TV shows in their collections (which is most of them by now) also offer digital loans of those. That's right, free movies! The best place to start is Kanopy . You can use your library card to access the platform's selection of streamable movies. Kanopy's catalog is heavy on documentaries, independent films, and educational programming, but there's some fun, mindless stuff in there too.

  • How UFO sightings became an American obsession
  • A critical internet safeguard is running out of time
  • Covid-19 is bad for the auto industry— and even worse for EVs
  • Going the distance (and beyond) to catch marathon cheaters
  • Uncanny portraits of perfectly symmetrical pets
  • 👁 If AI's so smart, why can't it grasp cause and effect ? Plus, get the latest artificial intelligence news
  • ✨ Optimize your home life with our Gear team’s best picks, from robot vacuums to affordable mattresses to smart speakers

Here’s the Right Way to Rescue a Soaking Wet Smartphone

Boone Ashworth

The Best Presidents' Day Deals on Home and Kitchen Gear

Louryn Strampe

The Best Presidents’ Day Mattress Deals

Medea Giordano

library books to kindle paperwhite

Scott Gilbertson

The Best Mattresses You Can Buy Online

Martin Cizmar

The Best Smart Speakers With Alexa, Google Assistant, and Siri

Parker Hall

The Best Reusable Water Bottles

Julian Chokkattu

The Best Smart Bulbs to Light Up Your Life

Nena Farrell

The Best USB Flash Drives for Ultra-Portable Storage

WIRED COUPONS

https://www.wired.com/coupons/static/shop/32697/logo/FINAL_TurboTax_logo.png

TurboTax Deluxe - $30 Off TurboTax Service Code

https://www.wired.com/coupons/static/shop/37832/logo/H_R_Block_Coupon_Code.png

Switch to H&R Block and get $50 off in-store tax prep with this coupon for new clients

https://www.wired.com/coupons/static/shop/37974/logo/Instacart_logo_-_22__1_.png

Instacart Promo Code: $10 off your first time purchase

https://www.wired.com/coupons/static/shop/30208/logo/_0047_Dyson--coupons.png

Dyson promo code: 20% off all purchases + free shipping

https://www.wired.com/coupons/static/shop/31565/logo/GoPro_Logo_-_WIRED_-_8.png

GoPro Promo Code: 15% off Cameras and Accessories

https://www.wired.com/coupons/static/shop/30173/logo/Samsung_promo_code.png

Samsung coupon Code for up to 40% Off select devices

  • About Amazon (English)
  • About Amazon (日本語)
  • About Amazon (Français)
  • About Amazon (Deutsch)
  • Newsroom (Deutsch)
  • About Amazon (Italiano)
  • About Amazon (Polski)
  • About Amazon (Español)
  • Press Center (English)
  • About Amazon (Português)

How to use a Kindle Paperwhite

library books to kindle paperwhite

  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share
  • LinkedIn Share
  • Email Share
  • Copy Link copied

Kindle Paperwhite.

Lee este artículo en español .

The Kindle Paperwhite is a mid-priced favorite among e-reader fans. It’s waterproof, which makes it equally great for reading at the beach and in the bath; the screen is crisp and sharp with a display that’s easy on the eyes; and the 10-week battery means you can generally go months without having to charge it. It also has Bluetooth, which means you can pop in earbuds to listen to an Audible version of your book in privacy.

Below you'll find everything you need to know about using a Kindle Paperwhite.

  • TABLE OF CONTENTS Turning your Paperwhite on and off
  • Turning your Paperwhite on and off
  • Browsing books on the Home screen
  • Opening a book
  • Reading a book
  • Special features within a book

Your Paperwhite only has a single button, located at the button of the tablet near the USB-C charging port. If the Paperwhite is completely off, press and hold the button for several seconds until the screen turns on, and let it boot normally.

As a general rule, though, you can leave the Paperwhite powered on all the time, and tap the button to wake the screen or put it to sleep. The tablet draws very little power and should last for months on a single charge, so you may not need to power it off completely after each use.

When you turn on the display, the Paperwhite should return to whatever screen it was on the last time you used it. If it’s not on the Home screen and you want to go there, tap the top of the screen and then tap the back button to return Home or to the Library.

Here you can browse books in your own library as well as eBooks on Amazon that are recommended for you. If you see a book you like, you can tap it and purchase it. Alternatively, you can use the Search Kindle field at the top of the page to search for a specific book to buy.

To get to additional options, tap the three-dot menu at the top right. Here you can get to your reading lists, settings, and other options.

Prime Student

The other tab on the main screen is the Library, which, not surprisingly, contains all of your purchased books. Tap the Library tab to browse your eBooks. Not all of these books are necessarily installed on this Kindle, but it should show you all the books you have purchased using your Amazon account.

There are a few handy icons to help you navigate your library. If you’re in the middle of reading a book, you should see the percent read at the top right of the book cover. Newly downloaded books will bear a “New” banner, while books you’ve finished will say “Read.” And books that are downloaded to your Kindle will have a checkmark at the bottom left.

You might have a lot of books in your library, so you can tap the three line menu on the right, above the book list, to change the way the books are presented. You can change the sorting, for example, as well as view the books in grid or list form, or arranged by your collections, if you’ve organized them that way.

When you’re ready to read a book, you can tap it in the library. If it’s already installed, it’ll open right away. Otherwise, it’ll take a few seconds for the book to download to your Paperwhite before it opens.

Kindle Paperwhite.

Your Paperwhite tries to make the screen look like you’re reading a real paper book, so there’s no interface getting in the way. To go to the next page, tap almost anywhere on the page; to go back to a previous page, tap on the left edge of the screen.

You might also notice your reading progress status at the bottom of the page—depending on how it’s set, you might see your location in the book, as a page number, how many minutes of reading are left in the chapter, or even nothing at all. To change the way your Kindle shows your reading progress, tap repeatedly in the lower left corner .

Want to get back to the Home screen or Library? Tap the very top of the page . This pop-up menu also lets you change details like layout and font ( tap the Aa for that), zoom to a different part of the book (that’s the three lines that look like a TOC), bookmarks, and more.

There are a few handy tools at your disposal when reading a book on your Kindle Paperwhite.

First and foremost: the dictionary. Not sure what a word means? Tap and hold a word for a second, then release; after a moment you’ll see the word is underlined, then the dictionary opens to define the word. Swipe to the left to see the word’s Wikipedia entry and even get a translation.

Many books also have X-Ray, a reference tool that helps summarize and provide context for the book you’re reading. X-Ray lists characters, locations, themes, and more from the book, which can be handy to stay on top of the action. To get there, just tap the top of the page and then tap the three-dot menu . The choose X-Ray .

Finally, you might be the sort of person who enjoys keeping notes or highlighting passages within a book. You can do that when reading with your Paperwhite as easily as when using paper books— just tap and hold a word or tap and drag your finger to select a phrase. Then, when the dictionary window pops up, you can use the Highlight and Note buttons to mark up the story. You can even export these notes to your computer afterwards.

Sign up for the weekly Amazon newsletter

Next, check out our Kindle buying guide .

  • PAGE OVERVIEW
  • 1 Turning your Paperwhite on and off
  • 2 Browsing books on the Home screen
  • 3 Opening a book
  • 4 Reading a book
  • 5 Special features within a book

An image of an Echo Hub mounted on a wall showing the home screen.

Amazon’s Echo Hub is now available—8 tips to simplify your smart home with Alexa

Prime Student

8 Kindle features that make reading easier and more fun

An image of a Fire TV screen.

How to create unique artwork using your Fire TV and generative AI

A collage of three images. The one on the left shows a group of people getting into a car. The top right shows a kid interacting with a toy, and the bottom right shows an Amazon Echo Show.

CES 2024: 7 key announcements from Amazon

An image of a Panasonic TV mounted on the wall showing Fire TV homescreen.

Amazon’s Fire TV built in is coming to Panasonic's new smart TVs this year

Man in bed reading on his Kindle.

10 things you can do on a Kindle you may not know about

Woman reading on her Kindle.

How to hard reset and reboot your Kindle

Fire TV

How to connect your Fire TV Stick to a smart TV

Alexa enabled device

How to connect your phone to an Alexa-enabled device

Looking for the 2024 Reading Log?

Looking for the FREE 2024 Reading Log? Click Here !

Everyday Reading

How to Add a Library Book to a Kids Kindle

A few years ago, we gave Ella a Kids Kindle ereader for Christmas and I wrote a whole post about them here .

Since then, the number one question I’ve been asked about the Kids Kindle is “Can you put library books on a Kids Kindle?”

The good news is YES!

It’s not obvious how to do it and it took me a bit of fiddling around to figure out how to do it, but once I knew the steps, I could have library books added to Ella’s kindle in 90 seconds or less.

Here’s how to do it!

library books to kindle paperwhite

First, log into Overdrive or Libby and choose the ebook you want to check out for your child.

You can filter in the left hand column for only Kindle format ebooks, which makes it much quicker to find the right books.

library books to kindle paperwhite

Once you’ve selected a book, click “Borrow” and when this window pops up after your completed your checkout on the library end, click “Read Now with Kindle.”

library books to kindle paperwhite

It’ll connect you to Amazon (you’ll need to sign in if you’re not currently signed in) and then choose “Get Library book.”

library books to kindle paperwhite

Once you’ve completed the checkout on Amazon’s side, you’ll get a thank you notice. In that thank you notice, choose “Manage Your Content and Devices.”

library books to kindle paperwhite

A full list of all your digital books will pop up and it’s usually sorted by what you’ve most recently checked out, so your new library book should be first. On the left side, click “More Actions.” When this box pops open, scroll down to the bottom and click “Manage family library.”

Add a Library Book to a Kids Kindle

It will show all your libraries, including any FreeTime libraries associated with a Kids Kindle. Click “Add to Library” next to your child’s name that has the Kids Kindle and . . .ta-da! The library book is added to their Kindle.

library books to kindle paperwhite

The next time they sync it, it’ll pop right up in the “Added for You” section of their home screen on their Kindle.

Any other questions about adding library books to a Kids Kindle? I’m happy to help!

If you liked this post about how to Add a Library Book to a Kids Kindle, you might like these posts too:

  • Why I LOVE my Kindle reader
  • How to get library books on your Kindle
  • The best Kindle Unlimited books

add a library book to kids kindle

Reader Interactions

' src=

December 22, 2020 at 6:16 am

You read my mind!!! Just yesterday I was doing this and couldn’t figure it out!! thank you!!

' src=

December 30, 2020 at 1:07 pm

I’ve been trying to figure this out for a week now! Thanks for the instructions. Do I need to do something different if we have the free year of FreeTime? I’ve followed your steps and I can’t get it to pull up the book on the kindle. I can see that they’ve been added to her device on Amazon but it’s not showing up on the kindle.

' src=

April 20, 2021 at 5:19 pm

Go to search and search the title of the book then scroll all the way down and there is a section called “added for you.” Tap on the book to download it.

' src=

July 1, 2021 at 1:53 pm

Wow that is a really annoying process – I never would have found that on my own! Insane how many steps it takes to add a library book for a kid’s kindle. Thank you.

' src=

September 29, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Thanks for asking about this extra step. I never would have found it either. Such a pain and not user-friendly. Once it’s sent to their device they should be able to just Sync and go. Bummer!

' src=

February 17, 2023 at 9:55 am

So glad to have found these steps. I am seriously disappointed in how complex Amazon makes it to add any kind of book to these kids Paperwhites. Library books are especially a pain.

' src=

September 19, 2023 at 11:12 am

I agree. Scrolling down to find Added for You at the very bottom wasn’t at all intuitive and when I spoke with customer support, that was a critical piece they failed to mention until I was escalated to a supervisor. Sadly, I did not pay attention to this one final piece when reading your explicit instructions. Clearly I needed a visual as well. Thank you for helping us get library content to our children!!

' src=

January 23, 2021 at 6:59 pm

Thank you – this is so helpful! Do you know how to get an audiobook from Libby/Overdrive onto the kids kindle ereader?

' src=

January 24, 2021 at 9:26 pm

You can’t – only Audible audiobooks work on a kindle ereader.

' src=

February 26, 2021 at 8:31 pm

Thank you for this info! I spent forever trying to figure this out and finally came across your website. I am loving the kids kindle for my 9 year old! He now chooses to read for fun…Finally

' src=

March 26, 2021 at 4:51 pm

I can’t get it to work. Is it because my daughter is logged in to her Amazon Kids account? Do we need to exit Amazon Kids to be able to get ebook from Overdrive?

March 26, 2021 at 8:36 pm

Hmm, did you add it to her FreeTime library?

March 27, 2021 at 8:42 pm

It worked this time! I don’t know why, but it didn’t say Freetime before, but it does now and it’s showing up in her library. Thanks for you help!

' src=

February 10, 2023 at 8:48 am

What is the FreeTime library?

February 10, 2023 at 10:04 am

It’s now called Amazon Kids+

' src=

July 6, 2021 at 9:09 pm

You are a lifesaver! I have been trying to figure out how to do that for my kids and completely missed the ‘Manage Family Library’ option – Thank you X a million!!

' src=

July 25, 2021 at 9:23 pm

Does anyone know if this works in Canada too?

' src=

August 12, 2021 at 8:33 am

Thank you! And I found this works for Prime Reading and Kindle Unlimited if you have a subscription to any of those and you want to add any books to your kids Kindle from there.

Thanks again!

' src=

August 17, 2021 at 7:12 am

Thank you so much!!! This was extremely helpful as I was personally missing the last step as many others have stated.

Quick tip: if you’re still having trouble. It wasn’t syncing to my kids Kindle, but I was able to search for & download it after I had completed all these.

' src=

November 11, 2021 at 9:48 am

My child wanted a book off of Libby on the Kid Kindle for the first time, and I remembered you posting about this and came to find it. Thank you!

' src=

December 25, 2021 at 8:23 pm

WOW!! Just wow! No clue how you figured this out, I consider myself “tech savvy” but no chance I would’ve figured this out in a million years!

Just came here to confirm this worked absolutely perfectly on my son’s Fire tablet, which I’ve basically locked down to act as a “color kindle”, but the instructions worked literally perfectly.

Thank you SO MUCH!!

' src=

December 30, 2021 at 3:39 pm

My daughter got a Paperwhite for Christmas and has her own library card. is there a way to just assign the paperwhite to her so she can manage her own books with the library? I then don’t have to move them to the device for her

' src=

May 28, 2022 at 3:57 pm

I am wanting to something similar. I have young teens with their own Paperwhites and their own library cards. I really would love to give them the ability to get their own books instead of having to go through me. But I don’t want them to be able to (accidentally) buy books.

' src=

January 2, 2022 at 12:34 pm

I feel like I did all the steps to get a library book over to the Kids Kindle (went thru Family Library and chose her name) but it never showed up, even though we waited the half hour (and more) for it to show up…

' src=

January 12, 2022 at 4:24 pm

I noticed the steps look a little different now. I couldn’t get it to show up on my son’s profile and had to just log into the “main” page on the kindle, where he sees all the books in our amazon account. I wonder if Amazon has updated settings since this post?

' src=

March 13, 2022 at 4:47 pm

I am having the same issue. I have followed all of the steps to borrow a book from the library. I went into manage family library and told the book to go to my daughter’s Amazon kids library. When I grab the kindle and sync it, the book only shows in my adult account and not in my daughter’s account. I’ve tried several books and have had no luck seeing anything from the library. All that shows in my daughter’s account is the free for a year Amazon reading service. Any ideas?

' src=

March 23, 2022 at 9:39 am

Ready to give up over here too! Same issue!

' src=

July 15, 2022 at 5:25 am

Same issue! Any suggestions?

July 15, 2022 at 9:11 am

Several people have mentioned they didn’t realize they need to scroll down a bit on their child’s Kindle homescreen to see the recently added books. Does that help?

' src=

July 18, 2022 at 4:10 pm

I had to sign my kid out of AmazonKids to access library books, but as mentioned by someone else upthread, this means my kid also sees (and can access!) all of the books in my Kindle account. Not what I want, and I’m really disappointed with Amazon for making this hard.

July 19, 2022 at 8:14 am

You don’t need to do that – as long as you’ve added it to their library following these steps, it’ll show up in their account and not have to let them into your account. You may need to scroll down a bit on their home page to see it.

' src=

December 21, 2022 at 10:02 pm

I am having the same issue. I can see it when I enter the parental controls password but only see the Amazon Kids + content when I go back into my child’s profile. Super frustrating. 🙁

December 21, 2022 at 10:28 pm

Okay so I was able to go in and figure it out! Even though it was showing that it was sent to my child’s library on the manage digital content screen it wasn’t until I actually went to the “add to library” tab specifically even though it was already showing shared to my child’s kindle. Then once I did that it finally popped up! Thanks for this article without reading through it multiple times I wouldn’t have figured it out.

' src=

June 17, 2023 at 6:02 pm

I am at my wits end. I got my 14 year old her own kindle paperwhite and have been trying to set it up for ages. I made her a “teen” account, but it won’t show up on the kindle?? When I had her as a “kid” the libby library books wouldn’t go to her kindle, only mine. I tried SO many times. She’s too young too have her own amazon account, but I don’t want her seeing my books and I don’t want to see hers. I just want her to be able to access her own books with her own card separate from me. Help!!!

' src=

January 25, 2022 at 8:34 am

Can I share audible books from that I have purchased on Audible to my daughter’s kindle? Before I had my library shared with her so that she could access those but then all my kindle books showed up and they are not all age appropriate. Thanks!

January 25, 2022 at 8:52 am

Yep – it’s the same process!

' src=

January 28, 2022 at 10:18 am

Unfortunately this doesn’t seem to be an option for Cloud Library which is the e-book downloadable app with my library T-T

' src=

February 10, 2022 at 4:21 pm

The book will populate on the Kindle, but also brings all of my titles as well. Presumably because the kid’s Kindle is under my email address. Any tips for only getting the books I want onto the Kindle?

February 11, 2022 at 7:22 am

It sounds like you’re not signed into a child’s account but have it set as your own account (check the name in the top corner of the Kindle – does it say their name or your name?).

' src=

February 26, 2022 at 12:15 am

Thank you so so much for this! We are so lucky to have many Spanish books at our local libraries, and even in Kindle version…I just didn’t know how to get it to our kids’ Kindles!

' src=

June 1, 2022 at 10:39 am

Thank you! It was so annoyingly hard to find this information. I got the feeling Amazon wanted me to buy their books instead of using the library books. So glad I found your post.

I’m so glad it was helpful!

' src=

November 15, 2022 at 6:39 pm

Two years later, it’s still the same cumbersome process, adding unnecessary steps required from the account owner in order to get a book to their kid’s library, and blocking the kids from helping themselves to books. The solution is so obvious that I can’t help by think it’s cumbersome on purpose, maybe to give Kindle’s own library an advantage over public libraries (i.e. more money to Amazon).

' src=

January 11, 2023 at 2:10 pm

Bless you. My daughter just got a kindle after trying mine out for a couple of weeks and I wanted to set up her account for her just so she doesn’t have to wade through my stuff – but Libby was giving me problems. Now it’s all fixed!

' src=

February 15, 2023 at 10:40 am

I found this post while trying to find a way to add non-Kindle books to a Kids Kindle account, but I thought it may be useful to readers here to know there is a simpler way to add library books )that are Kindle books) to a kid’s account. After checking out Kindle books from the library and then being redirected to the Amazon page to claim the books, I then go to parents.amazon.com where the profiles for each child can be accessed. I go to Add content under settings and put a check mark on all the books that show up. This is much faster to do than going to my amazon account and doing it there.

' src=

March 22, 2023 at 8:48 pm

I’m so excited to read this one. It’s wonderful!!

' src=

November 24, 2023 at 12:42 am

Is it possible to send files via email as for common Kindle? Nothing said about file transferring

' src=

November 25, 2023 at 6:31 am

Thank you for this great post. If following these steps takes you to Amazon’s website does that mean that from there you can access other parts of Amazon’s website? We’re considering a Kindle for a child that we don’t want to have access to the internet, etc. We only want it for reading. Is that even possible since you have to be connected to get library books too?

November 25, 2023 at 7:53 am

You’re not doing this on the Kindle – you’ll need to use a different device (a phone or computer) to get the library books, so they won’t have access to Amazon or anything else on the internet from their Kindle.

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

  • PRO Courses Guides New Tech Help Pro Expert Videos About wikiHow Pro Upgrade Sign In
  • EDIT Edit this Article
  • EXPLORE Tech Help Pro About Us Random Article Quizzes Request a New Article Community Dashboard This Or That Game Popular Categories Arts and Entertainment Artwork Books Movies Computers and Electronics Computers Phone Skills Technology Hacks Health Men's Health Mental Health Women's Health Relationships Dating Love Relationship Issues Hobbies and Crafts Crafts Drawing Games Education & Communication Communication Skills Personal Development Studying Personal Care and Style Fashion Hair Care Personal Hygiene Youth Personal Care School Stuff Dating All Categories Arts and Entertainment Finance and Business Home and Garden Relationship Quizzes Cars & Other Vehicles Food and Entertaining Personal Care and Style Sports and Fitness Computers and Electronics Health Pets and Animals Travel Education & Communication Hobbies and Crafts Philosophy and Religion Work World Family Life Holidays and Traditions Relationships Youth
  • Browse Articles
  • Learn Something New
  • Quizzes Hot
  • This Or That Game New
  • Train Your Brain
  • Explore More
  • Support wikiHow
  • About wikiHow
  • Log in / Sign up
  • Finance and Business
  • Shopping Online
  • Amazon Kindle

How to Access UK Library Books on a Kindle

Last Updated: May 28, 2023 References

This article was co-authored by wikiHow Staff . Our trained team of editors and researchers validate articles for accuracy and comprehensiveness. wikiHow's Content Management Team carefully monitors the work from our editorial staff to ensure that each article is backed by trusted research and meets our high quality standards. This article has been viewed 146,207 times. Learn more...

Many of the United Kingdom's library authorities allow their readers to access books in digital formats. Thanks to the OverDrive application, users in the United States and the United Kingdom are able to check out library books on Amazon Kindles. Setting up OverDrive requires many steps, but the process is well-worth it for the freedom of borrowing library books from the comfort of your home.

Setting Up OverDrive

Step 1 Download the OverDrive app.

  • Go to the Amazon Appstore on your computer or Kindle. On your computer, you can access the Appstore by going to Amazon's website and downloading the Appstore onto your computer. The Appstore will already be loaded onto your Kindle. An icon for the Appstore will on the home screen of your Kindle.
  • Search for the OverDrive application in the search bar at the top.
  • Click install and wait for the application to install on your Kindle or computer.
  • If you downloaded it on your computer, you need to sync it with your Kindle. You need to be connected wirelessly in order to do this. Take your Kindle and swipe down from the top of the screen to see Quick Settings. Click on Quick Settings, and then tap Sync. Once it is downloaded on your Kindle, you should be able to access it by clicking the OverDrive app icon on your home screen. [1] X Research source

Step 2 Register for an Adobe ID.

  • There can be an issue if you're using an Adobe ID that has been authorized to work with too many computers or devices. In this instance, an error titled "E_ACT_TOO_MANY_ACTIVATIONS" may pop up.
  • If you encounter this error, then you need to visit this link , which will take you to an Adobe website that will allow you to reset your ID.
  • Choose Digital Editions from the 'Find A Product' list. Next, select the option that says 'Adobe ID and signing in.' Then, select 'Adobe ID, sign in, and account help.' This will send you to a page with instructions on how to reset your Adobe ID.
  • If you are still having problems resetting your ID, then select the 'Contact Options' tab and then choose 'Chat.' A chat bubble will pop up and an Adobe assistant will help you. [2] X Research source

Step 3 Find a library.

Checking Out

Step 1 Learn how to navigate through the search categories.

Accessing Your Book

Step 1 Find the borrowed book on your Kindle.

  • To do this, click the "Apps" tab on your home screen. This will allow you to look at all of the applications downloaded on your Kindle.
  • Next, tap while holding the OverDrive icon, which will bring up the option to "Remove From Device."
  • Click "OK" to finally uninstall the app from your Kindle. You may have select "OK" again on the completion screen.
  • To install, go back to the Amazon Appstore, search for OverDrive, and reinstall on your Kindle.

Step 6 Use these steps if you receive a

Community Q&A

Community Answer

Things You'll Need

  • OverDrive app
  • Library card
  • Wireless Internet connection

You Might Also Like

Get Free Books for Your Kindle at Project Gutenberg

  • ↑ http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=201357460
  • ↑ http://help.overdrive.com/customer/portal/articles/1481507
  • ↑ http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/digital-home/how-use-overdrive-borrow-ebooks-3477110/
  • ↑ http://help.overdrive.com/customer/portal/articles/1481598-how-to-read-kindle-books-borrowed-from-the-library-with-kindle-devices-or-kindle-reading-apps
  • ↑ http://help.overdrive.com/customer/portal/articles/1481175-are-kindle-books-automatically-removed-from-my-kindle-or-kindle-reading-app-

About This Article

wikiHow Staff

  • Send fan mail to authors

Did this article help you?

Am I a Narcissist or an Empath Quiz

Featured Articles

Start a Text Conversation with a Girl

Trending Articles

How to Take the Perfect Thirst Trap

Watch Articles

Wrap a Round Gift

  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Do Not Sell or Share My Info
  • Not Selling Info

Don’t miss out! Sign up for

wikiHow’s newsletter

library books to kindle paperwhite

How do I transfer books in my kindle fire to my kindle paperwhite?

library books to kindle paperwhite

You don't transfer content from one device to another. You need to download the books from your account to the Paperwhite.

Make sure the Kindle is registered to the same Amazon account where your books are stored. Tap 'All' on the Paperwhite's Library screen to view the books in the account. Tap on each book you'd like to download. Tap 'Downloaded' when finished if you only want to view the books that are on that device.

Posts in the community may contain links to unsupported third-party websites not operated by Amazon. We are not responsible for the content or availability of non-Amazon sites. If you do not recognize or trust the website in any post, do not click on the link.

  • Conditions of Use
  • Privacy Notice
  • Interest-Based Ads
  • Other Amazon Communities

Glam

Can You Read Kindle Books On Other Devices?

We may receive a commission on purchases made from links.

Amazon's Kindle brand has inarguably become a monolith in the e-books realm. With many generations of e-readers under its belt, the Kindle name has helped blaze the trail to making digital books both popular and accessible to the general public. That said, not everyone has the budget or inclination to purchase a dedicated e-reader — even Amazon's generally crowd-pleasing devices. So, what about aspiring readers who want to access a Kindle library without owning a Kindle itself?

Thankfully, Amazon has a solution for users across devices and operating systems. Rather than trying to gatekeep its book selection to promote proprietary device sales, Amazon offers a Kindle app that works for Apple iOS, Android devices, and even desktop computers. So, while some e-book aficionados are busy debating Nook vs. Kindle  like "Twilight" teams to support their reading habits, you can also consider eschewing e-readers altogether. Depending on your preferences, the Kindle app may be all you need to luxuriate in your digital library.

Read more: The Moon Phase You Were Born Under Can Tell You The Theme Of Your Life

Setting Up The Kindle App On Your Device

Whether or not you have a separate e-reader, adding the Kindle app to your most-used devices is a no-brainer, giving you easy access to your favorite books anytime and anywhere. Here's how to get started. Navigate to the appropriate app store for your device — e.g. the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store. If you're downloading the app for a desktop computer, you may need the Mac or Microsoft App Stores. There, simply search for "Kindle," and the correct app should sit at the top of your results. Its icon looks like the silhouette of a child reading against a blue background. Click through to start your free download.

Once you've successfully installed the app, you must log in with the same email you use for your Amazon account. This will ensure that your app syncs properly with your Kindle purchases. Note: The Kindle app doesn't support direct purchases, so you'll still need to visit the Amazon website to buy new e-books, but they should quickly appear in your app library when the transaction is complete.

After that, you should be good to go! The world of Kindle e-books is now your oyster. Adjust the app settings to set preferences like font size and color scheme, and prepare to enjoy hours of reading. With the app now at your fingertips, this may also be a good time to consider Kindle Unlimited and explore the Kindle authors you should be reading right now .

Buying A Kindle Vs. Using The App

There's no rule saying that you have to choose between a physical e-reader or the Kindle app, and even diehard Kindle users can benefit from installing the app on their other devices. But if you're trying to decide between buying a Kindle and relying solely on the app, it can help to weigh the pros and cons of each.

On the side of dedicated e-readers, models like the popular Kindle Paperwhite are designed with readers in mind, incorporating e-ink displays that take it easy on your eyes and make your e-books legible even in direct sunlight. With up to 16 gigabytes of storage space, your Kindle can hold thousands upon thousands of digital books without stealing space from your photo reel or text messages. Meanwhile, waterproofing keeps the device safe at the beach or in the bath, and the battery life is supposedly legendary, as Amazon claims that the Kindle Paperwhite can last "up to 10 weeks" on a single charge.

If you're in the market for an e-reader, Kindle has a lot to offer. Still, the Kindle app has advantages of its own. For one thing, it's free to install, while a Paperwhite can cost up to $150. Prioritizing your Kindle app also means that you don't have to tote an extra device — you can simply access your favorite books from a phone or tablet you're already carrying. Typically, smartphones and tablets also have more responsive touchscreens, plus color displays that the Paperwhite lacks.

Read the original article on Glam .

Apple iPad displaying Kindle app

  • Today’s Paper
  • Play Crossword
  • Express Shorts
  • Premium Stories
  • Health & Wellness
  • Take Our Reader Survey

Amazon Kindle or Kobo Libra 2? How to pick the best e-book reader in 2024

E-readers are becoming increasingly popular as a way to carry and read large numbers of books without the weight and bulk of traditional paper books..

library books to kindle paperwhite

What is the most convenient way to carry all your favourite books? A bag may be too heavy, perhaps a compact device that can hold an entire library would be ideal. With e-books becoming mainstream, e-readers are now among the most sought-after personal tech devices.

Even though one can access e-books on their smartphones, e-readers have their unique advantage. These e-readers with their strain-less viewing experience, dictionaries, and various other features make them a favourite among bibliophiles.

library books to kindle paperwhite

If you are planning to buy an e-reader and don’t know where to start, here are some important things to consider while buying the e-reader best suited for your reading requirements.

Brand matters

For anyone investing in a new e-book reader, it is important to know that picking up a reliable brand is important. Unlike smartphones or laptops, there are only a handful of companies in the world that make e-readers. Over the years, these brands have mastered the art of making the perfect e-book readers. It is not just about the hardware, but what they offer in their catalogue is equally important. In our opinion, a good e-book reader should be ideally paired with an excellent catalogue of books. Notable brands such as Amazon offer subscription services that come with an assortment of books for a fixed price. Also, an e-book reader from a reputed brand is likely to last longer with all its features intact.

Most popular among e-book readers is Amazon’s Kindle which comes with a range of options. Kindle starts in the budget segment and goes up to ultra-high-end devices. Similarly, Rakuten has also started selling e-book readers in India, and then we have reMarkable, which is clearly one of the biggest ebook readers (in screen size) that one can buy in the market.

Festive offer

E-book readers based on display

Most e-book readers come with a monochrome e-ink display that offers the look and feel of books and has features like fine sunlight readability, and extended battery life. There are also e-book readers that come with coloured e-ink displays. These are costlier than the monochrome displays. Another distinguishing feature is the pixel density. An e-reader with higher pixel density will look a lot sharper. Some e-books also come with backlight support offering comfortable nighttime reading.

When it comes to inputs, most e-readers come with a touchscreen that helps in navigating catalogues, looking up terms, and even highlighting text by simply swiping across the screen. Storage and connectivity options are also crucial for e-readers.. As most devices don’t support storage expansion. However, depending on the usage, it is best to pick a device with a higher storage limit.

Other important things to consider

Most modern ebook readers offer at least 8 GB of internal storage, which should be good enough to store over 6,000 books at once. There are also some e-book readers which support audiobooks. It is to be noted that an audiobook will take up more space compared to an e-book.

In terms of connectivity, most e-book readers offer WiFi connectivity, while some offer cellular connectivity. If you tend to browse through the catalogue while travelling, getting a reader with cellular connectivity makes a lot of sense. There are also e-book readers with ingress protection, which will protect the device from water and dust. Look for this feature, especially if you tend to read while relaxing at a pool or a beach. Lastly, look for a device with excellent battery life and possibly a USB-C port, as one doesn’t want to charge an e-book reader quite often.

Here is a list of some popular e-book readers:

Kindle Paperwhite

e-book reader

There is no better entry-level e-book reader than the Kindle. Priced at Rs 13,999, the device has the dimensions of a typical book and it features a 6.8-inch display with a higher 300 ppi and 8 GB of storage, which can help you store 1000 books. The reader is also IPX8-rated for water resistance and it comes with a USB-C port and can be charged using most smartphone chargers. On a single charge, this device can last up to 10 weeks with moderate usage, and with the Kindle Unlimited, it gives access to over 2 million books.

Kindle Oasis (10th Gen)

e-book reader

This is one of the most cutting-edge ebook readers which offers free 4G access to download books on the go. With its premium finish and slim profile, this is also one of the best-looking ebook readers in the market, which retails for Rs 28,999. This reader has an improved e-ink display, which allows users to adjust warm light, and it also comes with physical buttons on the right side, which makes turning the page a lot easier. On top of that, with a whopping 32 GB of internal storage, this device can store over 20,000 books, and it is also IPX8 rated for water resistance.

Kobo Libra 2

e-book reader

Another product that’s quite similar to the Kindle Oasis is the Rakuten Kobo Libra 2. This device is priced at Rs 19,999 and comes with a 7-inch anti-glare display along with 32 GB of internal storage. Apart from being an e-reader, this one can also play audiobooks, available on the Kobo store. It is also IPX8-rated, and there are dedicated buttons to turn the page.

reMarkable 2

ebook reader

Compared to other options, this one is on the expensive side and costs Rs 43,999. However, unlike most ebook readers, this also allows users to take notes with the help of a stylus and it comes with a massive 10.3-inch display, where the notes will automatically sync with the cloud, which makes them easy to access from other devices such as smartphones and laptops. Unlike Rakuten and Kindle, reMarkable 2 does not have a digital book library of its own, but one can load an ebook that’s either in PDF or EPUB format . Reinkstone R1 Colour e-reader

e-book reader

If you are looking for an e-reader with a coloured e-ink display, then consider the R1 colour e-reader. Priced at Rs 47,189, this device comes with a 6-inch display, which brings comics to life, and unlike the other options, this device is based on Android OS, allowing users to download apps and games directly from the Google Play Store. It offers 32 GB of internal storage and has 300 ppi in black and white mode and 100 ppi in colour mode.

  • ebook reader

Kamal Nath

Congress leader Kamal Nath's son Nakul Nath welcomed Chief Minister Mohan Yadav to Chhindwara and urged him to provide early funds for the district. Yadav's visit comes after several Congress leaders from Chhindwara switched to the BJP. The CM promised development and implementation of welfare schemes. Rumours of Kamal Nath joining the BJP resurfaced but were dismissed by his supporters.

Indianexpress

Best of Express

EPFO data breach

Feb 22: Latest News

  • 01 Yogesh Saini, who added colour to Delhi’s streets one wall at a time, dies
  • 02 Unlike Cristiano Ronaldo in Saudi Arabia, here’s how brand David Beckham made MLS go big on Lionel Messi
  • 03 Hardik’s vision, Lalit’s leap, versatile Harmanpreet: In thrilling tie, flexible Indian hockey team springs surprises
  • 04 India standing against a bully: Defence Secy on China’s military assertiveness along LAC
  • 05 French prime minister tries to appease farmers before farm show
  • Elections 2024
  • Political Pulse
  • Entertainment
  • Movie Review
  • Newsletters
  • Web Stories

IMAGES

  1. Adding library books to kindle paperwhite

    library books to kindle paperwhite

  2. How to sort, filter, and manage your Kindle Paperwhite library

    library books to kindle paperwhite

  3. How to Use the Kindle Paperwhite

    library books to kindle paperwhite

  4. How to Add Library Ebooks to Your Kindle

    library books to kindle paperwhite

  5. Adding library books to kindle paperwhite

    library books to kindle paperwhite

  6. New Entry-Level Kindle Released, Plus White Version of Paperwhite

    library books to kindle paperwhite

VIDEO

  1. Review Kindle Paperwhite 3G ebook reader

  2. Decorating my new Kindle Paperwhite! #booktube

COMMENTS

  1. Check Out a Public Library Book

    Go to the website of your local public library and search for "Kindle books" or "eBooks." At checkout, sign in to your Amazon account and select the device to which you want to send the book. Connect your device to Wi-Fi and download the title from the Archived Items or Cloud.

  2. How Do I Get Library Books On My Kindle Paperwhite?

    First, go to the Libby app on your smartphone or tablet. Select the purple bar called Preferences. Under Compatibility, select "Kindle" to search all of the Kindle-available titles. Now search for your book! If your book is available, it will say Borrow. Does OverDrive work on old Kindle?

  3. How to Borrow eBooks from a Library on a Kindle for Free

    Now, simply click the "Borrow" button. Choose how long you want to borrow the book. The options are usually 7 or 14 days. Then, click "Borrow." A confirmation pop-up will appear with some extra information. The next step is to click "Read Now With Kindle." This will take you to the Amazon listing of the book.

  4. How to Get Library Books on Kindle

    Log in to your library system and find a book you want to read that's available on Kindle (I find that MOST e-books through the libraries I've used are available as Kindle, but you can also filter for Kindle titles by clicking "More Options" when you type in the search bar and choose "Kindle" under the "Availability" tab).

  5. How to Get Library Books on Kindle: Your Guide

    On the Overdrive website, a pop-up will show up with the button "Read now with Kindle.". Once you click on either, your internet browser will open up at take you to Amazon. If you're not logged into your Amazon account already, you'll have to sign in. Once you sign in, you'll see the library book listed, with a yellow "Get Library ...

  6. How to send books to your Kindle

    Drag and drop your file to the large square area, or click on Select files from device and choose the file you want to send. (The maximum file size is 200MB.) There will be a list of supported file...

  7. Borrowing Kindle Books from your library's OverDrive website

    You can see all of your library's Kindle Books by selecting the Kindle Books link near the top of the site (or under on mobile devices). Note: You may want to check whether a Kindle Book has any device restrictions before you borrow it (this is most common for picture books, read-alongs, and graphic novels). Select Borrow.

  8. How to Get Library Books on a Kindle for Free

    Go to www.overdrive.com and sign in. 2. Open your library's digital collection. 3. Search for and find the book you want to borrow using the site's advanced search, format filter, or by visiting ...

  9. Kindle Paperwhite

    209 subscribers Subscribe Subscribed 1 Share 469 views 1 year ago The Kindle Paperwhite (and Oasis) requires a few extra steps to borrow library books, as opposed to the Kindle Fire....

  10. How to Borrow Library Books on Kindle (OverDrive & Libby)

    Today, we go through the process of borrowing library books on Kindle using Libby and Overdrive.OverDrive: https://www.overdrive.com/Libby: https://www.overd...

  11. How to Use a Kindle Paperwhite

    How Do I Read Books on My Kindle Paperwhite? Because the book interface on a Kindle prioritizes the pages, you won't see "Forward" or "Back" buttons to read. Instead, the Paperwhite screen has "zones" you tap to go different directions. Here's how it works: Tap the center or right side of the screen to go to the next page.

  12. Q. How can I read a Libby ebook on my Kindle Paperwhite?

    May 22, 2023 17974 Yes - you can download Libby ebooks to your Kindle Paperwhite! Part 1 - You will need a 'smart device' to do the first part of the process. Use a desktop computer, Android phone, or Apple IOS device (ipad or iphone) to get the Libby app from the app store you already use on that device (Google Play, Apple App Store...)

  13. How to Get Free Kindle Books With Your Library Card

    Aug 13, 2021 7:00 AM How to Get Free Kindle Books With Your Library Card All you need is an internet connection, a library card, and a good e-reader to pick up your next page-turner....

  14. Borrowing Library Books Using A Kindle Paperwhite

    Borrowing Library Books Using A Kindle Paperwhite Wareham Circulation 29 subscribers 4.5K views 3 years ago This video will explain how to borrow e-books from Overdrive using a Kindle...

  15. How to use Kindle Paperwhite

    Here you can browse books in your own library as well as eBooks on Amazon that are recommended for you. If you see a book you like, you can tap it and purchase it. Alternatively, you can use the Search Kindle field at the top of the page to search for a specific book to buy. To get to additional options, tap the three-dot menu at the top right ...

  16. Free Kindle Books: 8 Places to Get Free Books on Kindle

    Or search the Kindle page for your favorite book genre (the "Categories" tab at the top is the place to start), click "See all results" at the bottom of the page and set the "Sort by ...

  17. How to Add a Library Book to a Kids Kindle

    On the left side, click "More Actions.". When this box pops open, scroll down to the bottom and click "Manage family library.". It will show all your libraries, including any FreeTime libraries associated with a Kids Kindle. Click "Add to Library" next to your child's name that has the Kids Kindle and . . .ta-da!

  18. How to Access UK Library Books on a Kindle: 14 Steps

    1 Download the OverDrive app. To recap, the OverDrive application allows users to digitally check out eBooks from their local libraries. This is the easy part, but it requires a few steps before you can download it. Go to the Amazon Appstore on your computer or Kindle.

  19. Adding a Libby/Overdrive Title to your Kindle Paperwhite

    Here's a quick tutorial to show you how to access Overdrive through BCCLS.org (or your local library!) and check out books to add to your Kindle. The process...

  20. How do I transfer books in my kindle fire to my kindle paperwhite?

    Make sure the Kindle is registered to the same Amazon account where your books are stored. Tap 'All' on the Paperwhite's Library screen to view the books in the account. Tap on each book you'd like to download. Tap 'Downloaded' when finished if you only want to view the books that are on that device. Helpful ?Reply0 out of 0 found it helpful. 1 ...

  21. Learn About Sending Documents to Your Kindle Library

    Send to Kindle is a service that allows you to send documents to your Kindle library on your Kindle devices and Kindle app at no additional cost. Upload documents through the web, an authorized email address, the Kindle app for iOS and Android devices, or a Send to Kindle application if available. All documents sent through Send to Kindle are protected with end to end encryption.

  22. CloudLibrary on Paperwhite? : r/kindle

    CloudLibrary on Paperwhite? : r/kindle r/kindle r/kindle • 1 yr. ago defiant-hearts CloudLibrary on Paperwhite? General Question Received a paperwhite as a gift. So far I love it! I just found out that my local library recently switched to CloudLibrary and that kindles are not compatible.

  23. How to locate Kindle Library page on your Kindle Paperwhite ...

    606 Share 175K views 1 year ago #kindle #library #howto A very quick video to help you locate your books on your Kindle Paperwhite. I was reading by first book on my Kindle but...

  24. Can You Read Kindle Books On Other Devices?

    On the side of dedicated e-readers, models like the popular Kindle Paperwhite are designed with readers in mind, incorporating e-ink displays that take it easy on your eyes and make your e-books ...

  25. Amazon Kindle or Kobo Libra 2? How to pick the best e-book reader in

    Here is a list of some popular e-book readers: Kindle Paperwhite. One of the most affordable and practical readers (Image credit: Amazon) ... reMarkable 2 does not have a digital book library of its own, but one can load an ebook that's either in PDF or EPUB format. Reinkstone R1 Colour e-reader. A reader with a coloured display (Image credit ...